NDGA, established in 1991, is a university-based, statewide partnership between professors and K-12 teachers. The Alliance provides educators with professional development, networking, and teaching materials and promotes public awareness of the importance of geographic skills and fluency. Part of National Geographic's nationwide network of state Geographic Alliances, NDGA's programs teach students to care for the planet, its resources, and all of its inhabitants and prepare them to succeed as citizens in an increasingly global society.

Our Vision

An effective presence of geography in the curriculum equips North Dakota students with geographic knowledge and skills to become productive global citizens and problem solvers in an interconnected world. A variety of NDGA partnerships and stakeholders clearly understand the importance of attaining geographic literacy as related to the future of ND.

NDGA, established in 1991, is a university-based, statewide partnership between professors and K-12 teachers. The Alliance provides educators with professional development, networking, and teaching materials and promotes public awareness of the importance of geographic skills and fluency. Part of National Geographic's nationwide network of state Geographic Alliances, NDGA's programs teach students to care for the planet, its resources, and all of its inhabitants and prepare them to succeed as citizens in an increasingly global society.

Our Mission

Promote and increase the level the geography literacy, foster innovation in geographic education, and encourage stewardship and conservation of Earth's resources.

NDGA Constitution

Download the NDGA Constitution.

NDGA Constitution (PDF)

Core Values

As an organization the North Dakota Geographic Alliance values its role as a trusted resource, advocate, and promoter of geography and social studies education. Geographic educators of North Dakota believe:

  • Quality geographic education is important and necessary in preparing students as citizens of the 21st century

  • Geography serves as a gateway to critical thinking and productive citizenship

  • Geographic education provides an opportunity for people to view the world with multiple perspectives in terms of culture, politics, and economics

  • Geography integration increases appreciation and awareness across disciplines and curricula

  • Quality professional development and mentoring of Geography teachers is on-going

  • Core values guide the decision-making process that is based on the foundation of profound respect and trust shown us by policy-makers, community and educators as an advocate of the need for geo-literacy.

Administration

Board Chair Jeff Beck Minot jeff.beck@sendit.nodak.edu
Coordinator Marilyn Weiser Minot marilyn.weiser@minotstateu.edu
NDGA Assistant Toni Schwartz Minot toni.schwartz@minotstateu.edu
NDGA Assistant Dana Weiser-Ritzke   dana_weiser@yahoo.com

Board of Directors

Jeff Beck Minot jeff.beck@sendit.nodak.edu
Tami Haman Fargo hamant@fargoschools.org
Larry Lasch Wahpeton larry.lasch@sendit.nodak.edu
Gary Schell Stanley gary.schell@sendit.nodak.edu
Kathy Rooke Bismarck kathy_rooke@bismarckschools.org
Mary Lee Nielson Valley City marylee@quiltedceiling.com
Douglas Munski Grand Forks douglas.munski@email.und.edu
Angie Milakovic Bismarck Angela.Milakovic@bismarckschools.edu
Marilyn Weiser Minot marilyn.weiser@minotstateu.edu
Dr. Jacob Sowers Minot Jacob.sowers@minotstateu.edu
Kim Schultz Bismarck kim_schultz@bismarckschools.org
     
Ex Officio    
Curt Eriksmoen Fargo cjeriksmoen@cableone.net
     
National Geographic Education Foundation
Brenda Barr Washington D.C. brbarr@ngs.org
     
Newsletter Editior
NDGA Staff